Tablesaw/Router Workstation – Part 2a: Main Body Build

Well, it’s done!
In total, it probably took around 15-17 hours of work in the evening and Sat/Sun morning, but it was well worth it!
I didn’t get many shots of cutting the plywood down, since I am not used to taking pictures while working in the garage, but here it goes!

After getting the sides, back and center support cut, I clamped and screwed them together. No glue was used, as I thought I might take this apart at a later date (once I build an upgrade) and use the boards for something else.

IMG_2459

Here is a shot of the back.

IMG_2460

From here, I traced the edges of the sides and back plywood onto the bottom of the box to determine exactly where to screw the bottom. I used the slide rule and traced as I used it as an edge guide.
IMG_2461

Once the bottom was secured, I then attached the wheels. No picture of the install, but here they are complete.

IMG_2462

After skipping more photos of cutting and putting wood together (I’ll try to get better in the future), I completed the bottom section of the bottom box. Here it is stuck halfway in.

IMG_2464

After some more work with no pictures, I completed the top section of the box and the identical bottom support of the table saw. Once this was on the workstation, I planned how to position the supports. The next few pictures show this.

No on the supports yet:
IMG_2467

After supports went on:
IMG_2472

IMG_2468

Taking a break to get a photo.
IMG_2475

In part 2b, I’ll move into the side supports. Part 2c will cover the creation of the router base and fence.

Leave a comment